WhatsApp has granted the wishes of a million rushed clickers and drunk messengers.
Retro chat editor
WhatsApp users can now delete messages they’ve sent.
Until now, you could delete a message from your own device, but other recipients could still see it. The new delete option lets you fully erase a message for everyone in a conversation.
How to do it
WhatsApp has a three-step guide to delete a message for everyone in a conversation.
Open the chat you want to edit.
Tap and hold the message/s you want to cut.
Choose ‘delete’ from the menu and tap ‘Delete for Everyone’.
WhatsApp hasn’t yet globally pushed the new feature. This is important, because the feature requires broad uptake to work. All users in the chat must have the updated WhatsApp, otherwise deletion will fail.
How much confidence to have
It’s a welcome addition, but useless until it’s also on Android and all conversationalists have updated.
WhatsApp also politely lets us know about a less-than-handy lack of feedback: On the official FAQ page, it mentions ‘You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.’ Thanks WhatsApp!
Ever been desperate to delete a digitally sent message? Share your best accidental send story in the comments, below.
Copy Transmission is a Melbourne-based agency :: Better Brands. Loud & Clear.