Instagram seems set to let users archive posts from their profile, similar to deletion but with the ability to put it back later if they change their mind.
Covered for recklessness
Instagram users who delete a post on a whim may later regret it. If they want it back up, they’d have to do it as a new post, losing the original upload date and resetting engagement stats to zero.
The new archive options may resolve those issues.
Some users will find it handy, but this new function is likely been prioritised because it serves Instagram’s own bottom line.
In practice, deleted posts are lost content. That means less opportunity for engagement on Instagram. The Archive option means that content won’t be permanently lost—it’ll just be parked and hopefully pop-up again later.
At the moment, archiving posts on Instagram is in beta. Some users will have been given access to the function so that Instagram can see if and how they use it.
If you’ve got it, great; let us know whether it’s a good thing in the comments.
If not, you’ll have to be patient. If Instagram decides to push it out more broadly, we’ll all have it soon enough.
Copy Transmission is a Melbourne-based agency :: Better Brands. Loud & Clear.